Are You Waiting For “Someday”?

I recently went to a funeral service for a coworker that passed away.

I felt all kinds of emotions, but the one that stood out was sadness.  And you would think, well, of course you’re sad.  Someone you care about has passed away.  But it was more than that.  It was sadness at a life cut short.  I felt very sad for the life she would no longer get to live.  Books she would never have the opportunity to write.  Conversations she would never have.  Trips she would never go on.

But at the edge of that was something else.

When someone passes away, you begin to think about your own mortality.  You begin to examine yourself in a way you never have before.

I thought about the things I have wanted to do but keep putting off:

Singing lessons
Finishing a children’s book
Creating a jewelry line
Traveling to Europe

I ask myself, when does someday become today?  When do I stop allowing myself to be distracted by my frantically busy daily life?  When do I decide it’s time to make time to do what I really want to do?

I’ve asked myself on more than one occasion, will I regret the life I’ve led?  When I’m old and ready to move on, will I think, “if only I had…”?  And my answer is always yes, yes I will regret it.  Then I tell myself, do it now, Tracy.  Do it now.

But I don’t.  I put it off thinking I have until “someday” and the truth is I don’t have until “someday”.  None of us do.  We’re not guaranteed a tomorrow.  All we have is now.  This moment.  Right here, right now.

When my coworker passed away, I realized, amidst the sadness, that I had an opportunity.  An opportunity to throw off the blinders and look at my life and how I’m living it.  An opportunity to examine what I’m doing and to be honest with myself if it is not what I want and to take action not someday but NOW.

Where are you not living your life?  Where are you allowing yourself to be distracted from taking action towards your dreams?  Where are you telling yourself “someday”?

Someday never comes.

I am reminded of a quote*:

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”

Someday never comes.

What do you want?  What do you really, really want?  Don’t make it wrong.  Don’t judge it.  Allow yourself to own it.  Write it down.  Say it out loud.  Shout it from the rooftops!

And then take one, small, inspired step towards it.  And then another.  And then another.  And before you know it your life will be transformed.

It starts with a decision.  A decision to no longer settle.  A decision to listen to that inner whisper.  A decision to begin right where you are, today.

Decide.

In love, I am

tracy elizabeth

*This quote has been widely attributed to Mark Twain but there is some dispute about whether he is, in fact, the author.

One thought on “Are You Waiting For “Someday”?

  1. I have at least a hundred things I’d like to do before dying. If I don’t get them done before I am on my deathbed I don’t think I’ll be sad. At least, seeing that as a possibility doesn’t make me sad.

    The saddest thing is to not own one’s dreams, desires, and goals. Also heartbreaking is to not make those little daily steps you describe toward the goal. I would be so sad if I didn’t do that. I know because there have been dark times in my life when I haven’t.

    Living my life with purpose makes me happy and grateful to wake up in the morning. I am enthusiastic to have the opportunity to take those little steps. I don’t know if I will reach those specific dreams before I die but it’s all about the journey and intention.

    I love that this post encourages everyone to live their dreams, right now while they are alive. I’ll be sure to share this.

    Hugs!

Leave a Reply

